my biopsy confirms sprue

gastroenterologist’s office called back. my polyps were benign, my barium enema showed “nothing remarkable”, and my small intestines were positive for sprue. i’m officially diagnosed with celiac disease. i’m sad that i won’t be able to eat my favorite foods, and being korean, i won’t be able to eat most korean dishes. but i’m very happy bc now i can control what i eat so that i don’t have to feel sick every day. I DON’T HAVE TO BE SICK ANY MORE!!

it’s hard, though. i had another gluten attack today, either from a new organic salsa i tried (GF ingredients, and a statement that separate machines were used for wheat products) or from the non-stick pan i used for breakfast. it’s not a new non-stick pan, and i just learned that gluten can remain on non-stick cookware even with thorough washing.

…still learning…

One thought on “my biopsy confirms sprue

  1. lifeischange says:

    Have you checked ingredients in things like soaps, shampoos, cosmetics, skin creams, cleaning products, etc? Anything that may come into contact with your hands (i.e. touching your hair after using a non-gluten free hair product) can transfer gluten when your hands touch your mouth or any food you eat.

    It can be really frustrating in the beginning, but once you get all those things worked out, it’ll be a lot easier.

    I have a link on my blog to a gluten free product list that includes health and beauty products. You might also do a web search or call the telephone numbers on the labels to ask if the item is gluten free. (I make lots of phone calls right from the aisle in the store, both on grocery products and on health and beauty items.)

    There are several companies who have very good labeling policies where they spell out whether any ingredients come from gluten or other known allergens. Where some labels might list, for instance, “modified food starch”, which could be from wheat, these companies will say something like “modified food starch (from corn)” or they will say “wheat” if that is where it comes from, so that it is very clear. I don’t remember all of the companies, but Kraft and Unilever are two of them. I tend to opt for the Kraft or Unilever brand when I have a choice and am not sure of the other brand, when I have a choice, because of their labeling policies.

    Somewhere I saw a list of these companies not too long ago – I’ll find the link and post it for you.

    Also, regarding the “anything you touch” rule, if you turn to be as super-sensitive to gluten as I am, be careful not to touch your face or mouth when you’re in the grocery store until you’ve had a chance to wash your hands. The grocery cart and the checkout counter can have gluten residue on them. (Just think of babies eating crackers and getting crumbs all over, or the way bags of flour seem to always have a dusting of flour on the outside.)

    I don’t mean to scare you. I think you will feel better and better as time goes and you have a chance to get used to all the new info you’re taking in right now. It definitely takes a period of adjustment, but as you said, it IS great to know that you don’t have to be sick anymore. 🙂

    I don’t know a lot about Korean cooking, but might you still be able to make your favorite recipes with gluten free ingredients?

    Ooh . . . look what I found: http://www.bookofyum.com/blog/gluten-free-korean-vegetarian-kitchen-dolsot-bibimbap-or-ishiyaki-bibinba-recipe-2536.html

Leave a Reply

